Ekaitz Erauskin Landa
Ekaitz Erauskin LandaSpain
  1. How would you describe yourself in one sentence?
    I’m competitive but I put the entertainment and well-being of my family and my dogs first.
  1. When did you start with sleddog sports and how?
    I started canicross in 2010 with my pet dog when I found out about a race that was held near where I live.
  1. Were you active in any other sport before? Which one?
    I have always ridden a bike, both mountain and road. I’ve also had a few years where I did trail running. On the other hand, I have always done sea sports such as spearfishing and kayak surfing.
  1. Which categories do you compete in and which one is your favourite?
    At the beginning in canicross for a few years but then I switched to bikejoring and each time I gave it more effort. I was also in skijoring but due to a shoulder injury I have had to leave it for a few years. I hope I can resume it next season.
  1. What kind of race trail do you like the most?
    We didn’t know many races outside of Spain until we got to know TDM in the Alps. We went 4 years in a row and in the last year we also met the TSB. We were already into bikejoring so it was a race that I don’t like to miss. And so it has also been with the ALB CROSS, which is a race that I really like as the beginning of the season.
  1. How much time do you devote to training?
    In the area where I live I don’t have much chance to train the dog on a leash. The training we do is to go out into the mountains on foot and climb. About 3 or 4 times a week we go out for between 1 and 1.5 hours each time. On the other hand, I go out about 2 or 3 times a week with the bike for 1.5 hours. Depending on the amount of work I have that week.
  1. What is your favourite workout routine?
    What I like the most is taking them out to the mountains on cold days and seeing how they enjoy the forest and the meadows.
  1. Do you have any other hobbies besides mushing?
    I like to go out into the mountains with my partner both by bike and on foot.
  1. How does your normal day look like?
    I start work early (6:30 a.m.) and I usually leave at 3:00 p.m. When I can, first I go out with my bike for a ride and then I take the dogs and go to the mountains. Many times I can only do one of them so I keep changing them. When my wife doesn’t work afternoons I try to go out with her on one of her outings. Both by bike and to the mountains.
  1. What are your biggest successes and plans for the future?
    Last year has been the first time that I have gone to an international Championship and I really liked it. I wish I could do another one.The ALB CROSS and the TSB are races that I don’t want to miss. But what I want the most is to be able to fully recover from my shoulders injury and be able to resume skijoring.